A book
Printed books are in the collections of the Aalto University Otaniemi Campus Library (Main Library) and the libraries of the faculties and departments. Availability information of books can be found in TEEMU. Books are put in the shelves in order of their topics. E-books can be found via the Nelli portal and also in TEEMU.
A journal
You can find electronic journals with the Find e-Journal search field or from the e-Journals section in the Nelli portal. Reference data of printed journals can be found in TEEMU and also in the TENTTU TKKserials database.
An article
In the Nelli portal you can find articles in electronic format. Some articles are available as full-text and of others there is just the reference data. References to Finnish technological articles can be found in the TENTTU Tali database.
A database
You can find the desired database with the Find database search field or from the Databases section in the Nelli portal.
A standard
SFS ONLINE service contains all SFS standards in electronic format.. Other standards in electronic format can be found in the Nelli portal by selecting Patents and Standards from the Quick links or from the Category search in Databases section.
Printed editions of SFS standards in Finnish and various other standards are in the Ref reference book collection. The library of Finnish Standards Association (SFS) has the most extensive collection of standards in Finland.
A Thesis
Bachelor's works, master's theses and licentiate's theses can be found in the TENTTU Inssi database. Some of them are available in electronic format.
A dissertation You can find dissertations either from TEEMU or the TENTTU Books databases. The latest dissertations are available in electronic format.
If you want information about a new subject it's best to begin by checking from TEEMU and the TENTTU Books databases if there are any books of the given subject. It's also recommended to search for theses in the TENTTU Inssi database. These kind of extensive publications often give a general overview the subject and provide a list of useful sources. You can get an even better overview by getting familiar with the TENTTU Tali database which contains article references of domestic technical journals.
The latest scientific information and most of the research results are published in scientific journals that can be browsed by category in the Nelli portal. When you find a suitable journal you can go into its own interface and search the content of the journal.
Often the most efficient way to find article publications is to perform searches in databases that contain references to published articles. Databases can be picked by category in the Nelli portal. Another way is to perform multiple simultaneous searches in databases via QuickSets that are divided by subjects. Many databases contain full-text articles, some of them only reference data. You can access the original article via the SFX link service provided the library has the right of use for the publication in question.
You can find factual data in reference publications of various fields of science. The printed reference book collection contains standards, encyclopaedias, handbooks, chart books and indexes. The collection is at the second floor of the library.
In the Nelli portal you can access electronic reference publications by selecting Reference Works, Dictionaries or Patents and Standards from the menu on the left side.