Making a bibliography
Index:
- Making a bibliography
- Examples for electronic materials
Journal article
Electronic bulletin boards, discussion lists and electronic messages
- Examples for printed resources
Journal article
Books, series and reports
Theses
Conference papers
Standards
Patents
1. Making a bibliography
The making of a bibliography is an essential part of scientific publishing. There are many systems to make a bibliography. Two much used reference systems are presented here: the Harvard system and the Vancouver system. At the Aalto University School of Science and Technology the practice varies between laboratories, so it is recommended to ask the supervisor for advice when writing for example a master's thesis.
In the Harvard system the references are organised alphabetically according to the first author's family name. If there are several references of the same author they will be organised according to the date of publication. In the Vancouver system the references are listed in numerical order as they appear in the text.
The information mentioned in the examples always has to be in the references when available. If a part of information is missing the field will be omitted, except that the number or the volume of a journal will be marked as (-).
In electronic references there has to be mentioned the place (computer) where the document can be found, the directory path, document's name and how it can be downloaded (the protocol for that). In addition to the information concerning the availability there has to be the date of citation, the update date and the publication type (e.g. online).
The bibliographic references can also be made with the help of the RefWorks bibliographic manager. It makes them automatically according to a chosen system. More information can be found in ISO 690-2.
2. Examples for electronic materials
Journal article
Author with primary responsibility (Required)
Year of publication or update in Harvard system (Required)
Name or title of independent part (Required)
Title of serial (Required)
Type of medium (Required)
Edition (Required)
Issue designation (Required)
Year of publication or update in Vancouver system (Required)
Location within host document (Required)
Date of citation (Required for electronic documents)
Notes (Optional)
Availability: URL or DOI number (Required)
Standard number (Required)
- Harvard system:
Maloka, Iamir E. & Harhim, Emad T. 2004. Estimation of the surface tension of a pure liquid. Petroleum science and technology. [Electronic journal]. Vol. 22:11-12. P. 1527-1534. [Cited 4 Mar 2005]. Available at: http://taylorandfrancis.metapress.com/openurl.asp?genre=article&eissn=1532-2459&volume=22&issue=11&spage=1527. ISSN 1091-6466 (printed) ISSN 1532-2459 (electronic).
Lassalle, V. L. & Failla, M. D. & Vallés, E. M. & Martin-Martinez, J. M. 2004. Chemical modification of styrene-butadiene-styrene co-polymer by grafting of N-carbamyl maleamic acid. Journal of adhesion science and technology. [Electronic journal]. Vol. 18:15. P. 1849-1860. [Cited 14 Feb 2005]. DOI:10.1163/1568561042708359. ISSN 1568-5616.
- Vancouver system:
6. Maloka, Iamir E. & Harhim, Emad T. Estimation of the surface tension of a pure liquid. Petroleum science and technology. [Electronic journal]. Vol. 22:11-12. 2004. P. 15271534. [Cited 4 Mar 2005]. Available at: http://taylorandfrancis.metapress.com/openurl.asp?genre=article&eissn=1532-2459&volume=22&issue=11&spage=1527. ISSN 1091-6466 (printed) ISSN 1532-2459 (electronic).
7. Lassalle, V. L. & Failla, M. D. & Vallés, E. M. & Martin-Martinez, J. M. Chemical modification of styrene-butadiene-styrene co-polymer by grafting of N-carbamyl maleamic acid. Journal of adhesion science and technology. [Electronic journal]. Vol. 18:15. 2004. P. 18491860. [Cited 14 Feb 2005]. DOI:10.1163/1568561042708359. ISSN 1568-5616.
Electronic bulletin boards, discussion lists and electronic messages
Sender (Required)
Year of publication or update in Harvard system (Required)
Title of message (Required)
Name of mailing or discussion list (Required)
Type of medium (Required)
Place of publication (Required)
Publisher (Required)
Date of publication or update (Required)
Date of citation (Required)
Notes (Optional)
Availability and URL or DOI number (Required)
- Harvard system:
Sloan, B. 2001. NetLibrary evaluates buyout proposal. Dig_ref digital reference service\ s discussion group dig_ref [at] egroups [dot] com. [Online]. 4311 Yahoo groups: Dig_ref messages. 15 Nov 2001. [Cited 22 Jan 2002]. Available at: http:/\ /groups.yahoo.com/group/dig_ref/message/4311.
- Vancouver system:
15. Sloan, B. NetLibrary evaluates buyout proposal. Dig_ref digital reference service\ s discussion group dig_ref [at] egroups [dot] com. [Online]. 4311 Yahoo groups: Dig_ref messages. 15 Nov 2001. [Cited 22 Jan 2002]. Available at: http:/\ /groups.yahoo.com/group/dig_ref/message/4311.
3. Examples for printed resources
Journal article
Author(s). Year of publication (Harvard system). Title of article. Name of journal, year of publication (Vancouver system). Volume. Number of issue. Page numbers of article. ISSN.
- Harvard system:
Al-Jabari, M. 2004. Dynamics of chelation-supercritical fluid extraction from wood fibers. Journal of separation science. Vol. 27:9. P. 686690. ISSN 1615-9306.
- Vancouver system:
5. Al-Jabari, M. Dynamics of chelation-supercritical fluid extraction from wood fibers. Journal of separation science, 2004. Vol. 27:9. P. 686690. ISSN 1615-9306.
Books, series and reports
Author(s), editor(s). Year of publication (Harvard system). Title. Edition if not the first. Place of publication: Publisher, year of publication (Vancouver system). Total number of pages. Possible series entry and/or report code. ISBN.
- Harvard system:
Wilson, S. 1984. Electron correlation in molecules. 2nd ed. Oxford, United Kingdom: Clarendon Press. 281 p. (International series of monographs on chemistry 11). ISBN 0-19-855617-9.
Raghavendra, C. R. & Sivaligam, K. M. & Znati, T. F. (ed.). 2004. Wireless sensor networks. Boston, Illinois, USA: Kluwer Academic. 426 p. ISBN 1-4020-7883-8.
Mote, C. D. Jr. & Johnson, R. J. 1991. Skiing trauma and safety: eight international symposium. Philadelphia, USA: ASIM. 270 p. ASIM special technical publication 1104 ASIM-STP-1104. ISBN 0-8031-1405-2.
- Vancouver system:
1. Wilson, S. Electron correlation in molecules. 2nd ed. Oxford, United Kingdom: Clarendon Press, 1984. 281 p. (International series of monographs on chemistry 11). ISBN 0-19-855617-9.
2. Raghavendra, C. R. & Sivaligam, K. M. & Znati, T. F. (ed.) Wireless sensor networks. Boston, Illinois, USA: Kluwer Academi, 2004. 426 p. ISBN 1-4020-7883-8.
Mote, C. D. Jr. & Johnson, R. J. Skiing trauma and safety: eight international symposium. Philadelphia, USA: ASIM, 1991. 270 p. ASIM special technical publication 1104 ASIM-STP-1104. ISBN 0-8031-1405-2.
Theses
Author. Year of publication (Harvard system). Title. Thesis. University, department or equivalent. Place of publication. Year of publication (Vancouver system). Total number of pages. (ISBN or ISSN.)
- Harvard system:
Teikari, P. 2006. Biological effects of light. Master's thesis. TKK, Helsinki University of Technology, Department of electrical and telecommunications engineering. Espoo. 134 p.
Pitkäranta, T. 2006. Software agents in semantic web environment. Licentiate thesis. TKK, Helsinki University of Technology, Department of computer science and engineering. Espoo. 130 p.
- Vancouver system:
11. Teikari, P. Biological effects of light. Master's thesis. Helsinki University of Technology, Department of Electrical and Telecommunications Engineering. Espoo. 2006. 134 p.
12. Pitkäranta, T. Software agents in semantic web environment. Licentiate thesis. TKK, Helsinki University of Technology, Department of computer science and engineering. Espoo. 2006. 130 p.
Conference papers
Author(s). Year of publication (Harvard system). Title of paper. In: Editors. Title of conference publication. Edition. Place and date of conference. Place of publication: Publisher or organiser of conference, year of publication (Vancouver system). Possible series entry. Page numbers of the article. ISBN.
- Harvard system:
Graefe, G & Shapiro, L D. 1991. Data compression and database performance. In: Kumar, Vijay & Unger, E. A. Proceedings of the 1991 Symposium on applied computing. Kansas City, Missouri, USA. 3-5.4.1991. Los Alamitos, California, USA: IEEE Computer Society Press. P. 2227. ISBN 0-8186-2136-2.
Oliveira, P. J. & Issa, R. I. 2003. Numerical aspects of an algorithm for the Eulerian simulation of two-phase flows. In: Morgan, K. & Weatherill, N. P. (eds.) ECCOMAS Computational fluid dynamics conference part V. University of Wales, Swansea, United Kingdom. 4-7.9.2001. International journal for numerical methods in fluids. 2003. Vol. 43:10-11. P. 11771198. ISSN 0271-2091. (DOI: 10.1002/fld.508).
- Vancouver system:
9. Graefe, G & Shapiro, L. D. Data compression and database performance. In: Kumar, V. & Unger, E. A. Proceedings of the 1991 Symposium on applied computing. Kansas City, Missouri, USA. 3-5.4.1991. Los Alamitos, California, USA: IEEE Computer Society Press, 1991. P. 2227. ISBN 0-8186-2136-2.
10. Oliveira, P. J. & Issa, R. I. Numerical aspects of an algorithm for the Eulerian simulation of two-phase flows. In: Morgan, K. & Weatherill, N. P. (eds.) ECCOMAS Computational fluid dynamics conference part V. University of Wales, Swansea, United Kigdom. 4-7.9.2001. International journal for numerical methods in fluids, 2003. Vol. 43:10-11. P. 11771198. ISSN 0271-2091. (DOI: 10.1002/fld.508.)
Standards
The mark and number. Year of publication (Harvard system). Title of standard. Edition if not the first. Place of publication: publisher. Year of publication (Vancouver system). Total number of pages.
- Harvard system:
ISO-690-2. 1997. Information and documentation: bibliographic references. Part 2: Electronic documents or parts thereof. Genève: International organization for standardization. 21 p.
- Vancouver system:
16. ISO-690-2. Information and documentation: bibliographic references. Part 2: Electronic documents or parts thereof. Genève: International organization for standardization. 1997. 21 p.
Patents
Country of publication and number of the patent. Year of publication (Harvard system). Title of patent. Patentee, Domicile. (Inventor) Application number, Date of filing. Date of publication. Total number of pages.
- Harvard system:
EP 1713073 A1. 2006. Universal housing for holding storage devices. Quantum Corporation, San Jose, US. (Thorson, Thomas A.) 06252028.3. 12.04.2006. Publ. 18.10.2006. 17 p.
- Vancouver system:
EP 1713073 A1. Universal housing for holding storage devices. Quantum Corporation, San Jose, US. (Thorson, Thomas A.) 06252028.3. 12.04.2006. Publ. 18.10.2006. 17 p.